Heifetz & Piatigorsky Movie Review 1981

Information and Film Reviews for Heifetz & Piatigorsky the Movie

Visitor rating
4.0 from 0 reviews

Three presentations are featured on one cassette. First, Jascha Heifetz, the incomparable violinist and his accompanist, Emanuel Bay, give an impromptu recital at Pomona College. In a varied program, he plays Mendelsohn's "Sweet Remembrance," Brahm's "Sontensatz," and "Hungarian Dance Number 7," Gluck's "Melodie," Prokofiev's "March" from "Love for Three Oranges," Wieniawsky's "Polonaise," and Dinicu-Heifetz's "Hora Stacatto." The second presentation features the great cellist Gregor Piatigorsky in a brilliant concert including Bach's "Bouree Number 1" and "Bouree Number 2" from "C-Major Suite," Chopin's "Slow Movement from Cello Sonata," Prokofiev's "Masques" from "Romeo and Juliet" Anton Rubinstein's "Romance," Tschaikowsky's "Waltz," and Schubert-Piatigorsky's "Introduction, Theme and Variations." The tape concludes with "The Portrait of an Artist," a look at the home and practice life of Jascha Heifetz. The varied program consists of Vitali's "Chaconne," Bach's "Prelude in E-Major," Debussy's "Girl with the Flaxen Hair," Wieniawsky's "Scherzo Tarantella," and Paganini's "24th Caprice."


Kultur International Films Ltd., Inc., 195 Highway 36, West Long Branch, NJ 07764, Phone: (732)229-2343, Email: info@kultur.com, URL: http://www.kulturvideo.com

Available on VHS
Running time 78 minutes.

Cast and Crew

Jascha Heifetz, Gregor Piatigorsky

Copyright © 2021 Net Industries - All Rights Reserved